Madison County Theft Crimes Defense Attorneys
Where We Care About You as Well as Your Case
At Savant & Rich, LLC, we understand the difficulties you face when staring into the prospect of any type of theft charge. Whether a misdemeanor or felony, these types of offenses can seriously impact your future if you are convicted. Our firm has been built on strong relationships with our clients because we provide the kind of personalized care not easily found elsewhere.
We always work aggressively to protect you as an individual after thoroughly understanding your situation. If you have been charged with theft or have been subject to a criminal investigation regarding theft, we highly recommend that you contact us as soon as possible so that one of our Madison County theft defense lawyers can get to work on your behalf.
Take advantage of our 35 years of combined experience by contacting us at (601) 869-5015 for a free case review. You can also contact us online.
Is Receiving Stolen Property a Felony in Mississippi?
Receiving or possessing stolen property in Mississippi can be a felony if the value of the stolen property is great, if the value of the stolen property is lesser then the charge will be a misdemeanor.
Mississippi Theft Offenses & Consequences
Mississippi theft crimes are referred to as larceny. They are generally categorized as petty larceny or grand larceny.
What is Grand Larceny in Mississippi?
Grand Larceny is a felony charge defined as the stealing of property valued above $500. It carries penalties of:
- State prison terms of up to 10 years
- A fine of up to $10,000
- A permanent criminal record that can negatively affect future employment, housing, professional licenses, and government financial aid
What is Petty Larceny in Mississippi?
Petty larceny is a misdemeanor charge that includes shoplifting and involves stealing merchandise valued under $500, punishable by up to six months in a county jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Repeat offenders may receive harsher sentences upon conviction. Convicted shoplifters may also be subject to restitution, attorney fees, and court costs to store owners.
What can a Theft Charge be Reduced to?
In Mississippi, if you are facing charges for a first-time theft offense in certain circumstances you may be able to enter a pretrial diversion or intervention program. The requirements for completing the program can include making restitution, community service and probation. If all of the requirements are met, the charges may be dropped.
If it is not possible to enter a pretrial diversion or intervention program, you may be able to plea bargain depending on the prosecutor’s discretion. To plea bargain you may plead guilty in order to receive a lesser sentence or charges.
Talk to a Seasoned Criminal Defense Lawyer First
Following a theft charge, learn more about how Savant & Rich, LLC can assist you with dedicated legal support. With a former prosecutor on board and the full backing of our entire legal team, you can rest assured that we will seek to do everything possible to achieve a favorable result.
Reach out to a firm that cares. Call us at (601) 869-5015 for the personalized legal service you deserve.
Not Guilty Aggravated Assault
Not Guilty on Felony Aggravated Assault
Dismissed Aggravated Domestic Violence
Not Guilty Aggravated Domestic Violence as Habitual Offender
Case Dismissed Auto Theft
Not Guilty Domestic Violence
Dismissed Domestic Violence
Dismissed Domestic Violence
Trial – Not Guilty, Case Dismissed DUI
Not Guilty, Case Dismissed DUI